Student Affairs Office

  • Student photos from the Office of Student Affairs
  • Group Photo
  • Students Photo - Office of Student Affairs
  • Student photos from the Office of Student Affairs


We remain available to the entire student body should they have any questions or concerns. Feel free to stop by our office located at:

1853 West Polk Street, 112 CMW
Chicago, Illinois 60612
Phone: (312) 996-2450

Please follow the link to view the The College of Medicine Medical Student Guide

Student Achievements

Dr. C. M. Craig Fellows for Summer Research 2016:

The Craig Fellowship is designed to enable first year medical students the ability to conduct research under the guidance of a UI COM faculty member. The Craig Fellowship is a highly competitieve summer program. Please join us in congratulating this year’s selected fellows.

Congratulations to the 2016 Craig Fellowship winners!

Student NamePerforming research in:Comments
Ansong, EmmanuelMedicine/Hematology/Oncology
Bhat, PradhanGastroenterology and Hepatology
Bhimani, AbhirajNeurosurgery
Burhani, MansoorPhysiology & BiophysicsFerguson/Craig Fellow
Carroll, TimothyGastroenterology and Hepatology
Cedermaz, JonathanEmergency medicine
Darwish, DanaMedicineIM-Craig Fellow
Goh, VivienMedicine/Nephrology
Hsu, MichaelAnatomy and Cell Biology
Ledezma, KarinaMedicine/CardiologyIM-Craig Fellow
Macrinici, VictorDermatology
Michael, RamanOpthamology & Visual Services
O’Neil, ChristopherOpthamology & Visual Services
Patel, RonakMinimally Invasive Surgery
Patel, TakshakaNephrology
Rafidi, RobertPsychiatry
Shi, KevinSurgery
Stelman, ClaraAnesthesiologyFAER/Craig Fellow
Wang, ErikSurgery
Wondmagegn, AdmasPhysiology
Yost, GardnerBioengineering

For previous listings, see the Craig Fellowship History page

GHHS Induction Ceremony

DATE: April 25, 2018

TIME: 11:30 am – 1:00 pm

LOCATION: Faculty Alumni Lounge

University of Illinois College of Medicine Gold Humanism Honor Society Chapter Formation

In 2004 The University of Illinois College of Medicine (UI COM) formed a local chapter of a new national honor society, the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) to recognize outstanding humanistic activity among students. The Gold Humanism Honor Society is sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation whose mission is fostering humanism in medicine. The Gold Foundation defines humanism as “encompassing those attitudes and behaviors that emanate from a deep sensitivity and respect for others, including full acceptance of all cultural and ethnic backgrounds. Further, humanism is exemplified through compassionate, empathetic treatment of all persons, while recognizing each one’s needs and autonomy.”

The Gold Foundation is a public, not-for-profit organization established in 1988 by Drs. Arnold and Sandra Gold, colleagues at the Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons in New York City, and dedicated community leaders and philanthropists. Through funds raised by The Foundation for programs, significant advances have been made in the development, implementation, evaluation and replication of innovative medical educational programs and projects to influence the way physicians are trained. National programs include sponsorship of the White Coat Ceremony for incoming medical students, Student Clinician’s Ceremony for rising third year medical students, fellowships, essay contests, lectures, Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards, national symposia, training videos, and an on-line Humanism Resource Center. More information on the Foundation:

Gold Humanism Honor Society student members are selected at the beginning of their M4 year, when students have had sufficient opportunity to distinguish themselves through public service, leadership, and patient contact during their clerkships. Up to fifteen percent of the rising M4 class can be selected each year. The Gold Humanism Honor Society is featured in the Medical Student Performance Evaluation (MSPE) of student members in the following statement:

(Student First Name) was selected for induction into the Gold Humanism Honor Society, a national organization sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation for Humanism in Medicine to recognize outstanding humanistic character and performance. Membership is limited to 15% of the M4 Class. Students are selected who demonstrate outstanding interpersonal skills, compassion, empathy, respect, integrity, exceptional commitment to service, as well as leadership in these areas.

For previous listings, see our Membership History

Gold Humanism Honor Society Class of 2018 Members:

Tokunbo Adeniyi
Brandon Collofello
Vidya Govind
Omar Jamil
Nathan Lin
Ariana Melendez
Elizabeth Nagel
Oyetewa Oyerinde
Michael Ozga
Ashley Patel
Jasmine Partida
Katherine Reifler
Christiana Shoushtari
Tosha Songolo
Rachel Tatz
Divya Verma
Michelle Yoo
Kristen Zwicky

Alpha Omega Alpha

AOA Induction Ceremony

DATE: May 10, 2018

TIME: 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm

LOCATION: Faculty Alumni Lounge

It is a pleasure to announce the Class of 2017 Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society:

Junior AOA Class of 2018 – will be inducted in 2017

Class of 2018

Asher, Rachel
Gossett, Paull
Hatcher, Amalia
Meisner, Jay
Muniz, Joshua
Prescott, Kevin
Speigel, Philip
Verma, Divya
Winter, Ian

Senior Class of 2018

Blessing, Paul
Deng, Han
Dunham, Theresa
Fang, Kexin
Goldenberg, Joseph
Kobayashi, Kenji
Lee, Ryan
Looman, Mark
Marcus, Charles
Naureckas, Patrick
Ayak, Ashwin
Patel, Bhavik
Riederman, Brett
Schmidt, Gregory
Shang, Margaret
Thompson, Trevor
Zhu, Yuli
Zubenko, Alexandra
Zwicky, Kristen

Alpha Omega Alpha is organized for educational purposes exclusively and not for profit, and its aims shall be the promotion of scholarship and research in medical schools, the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates, and the recognition of high attainment in medical science, practice, and related fields. For more information about AOA please visit the web site